Garlic Breadcrumb Pasta

Breadcrumb3Taking a break from my posting about salads run and loading you all up with a seriously carbed-out dinner option.  Maybe you’re training for an endurance race where loading up on the carbs is part of your preparation.  That would be the good excuse for eating this pasta.  Me, however, I am not training for anything…. I just like eating massive amounts of pasta from time to time without any justification.  I just like to eat and this pasta combined some of my all time favorite flavors.

As I’m writing this, I realize I’ve essentially combined all the deliciousness of garlic bread into a sauce for pasta.  I chose long squirrelly noodles because they do a fantastic job at gripping all the yummy sauce.  My original plan was to also add some roasted cauliflower in with this pasta dish, but as I got cooking (making my own breadcrumbs and what not) I lost my gusto to also make roasted cauliflower.

If you don’t go with the making your own breadcrumbs route, this is a fast and easy dinner.  Also very easy to add some veggies and protein to round it out a little better.

Ingredients:
½ package long pasta
2-3 tbsp butter (or butter substitute)
1-2 tbsp olive oil
1 shallot (thinly sliced)
3 (or more) garlic cloves (thin slice, or fine chop)
White wine or chicken broth (optional)
Parsley (for topping)
Parmesan cheese (for topping)

Breadcrumbs Ingredients:
3-4 slices of any sort of bread
Garlic salt
Olive oil

Directions:
To make breadcrumbs:  Break up pieces of bread into food processor or blender.  Pulse or blend until desired consistency is achived.  In a bowl, combine breadcrumbs with a drizzle of olive oil, garlic salt (as much as desired) and toss.  Bake in an oven at 350 degrees for about 8 minutes.  Keep and eye on it and stir them around so they toast evenly.

For pasta and sauce:  Get a pot of water going for the pasta.  Meanwhile, in a large sauté pan, on low heat add butter, olive oil, garlic, and shallot.  This sauce just cooks nice and slow.  The shallot/garlic flavor infuses into the butter and olive oil.  After shallots and garlic soften, I added a bit of white wine to “expand” the sauce.  Using chicken broth is also another option.  You want enough sauce to coat the pasta so use our best judgment.  When pasta is nearly cooked, transfer pasta directly into the sauce to allow it to finish cooking.  Keep some starchy reserved water in case you need to thin your pasta sauce further.  Add breadcrumbs at the very end; toss together and serve.

I also decided to toss in a handful of my almond cornmeal (using this stuff left and right).  It added a nice nutty flavor to the already savory flavors of the sauce.

Breadcrumb1

I hope you enjoy!!

2 Comments

    • cindyelkins says:

      I got this idea from Campo actually. I think the pasta may only be on their dinner menu. So, if you don’t feel like making it, head over to Campo for Estee’s version.

Leave a Reply

