Mofongo con Camarones

To wrap up Dominican week, I’m going to share with you another mouth-watering dish that I find myself craving regularly now that I’ve tried it.  Mofongo.  Such a simple meal, but this dish (when prepared properly) can pack a delicious punch.

Mofongo from Bachata Breeze - Orlando, FL

Mofongo from Bachata Breeze – Orlando, FL

A couple months ago, I went to Orlando, FL and to a Dominican restaurant there called Bachata Breeze.  This is where Mofongo and I first met and I’ve been thinking about it ever since.  The beauty of Dominican food is that it’s fairly simple in preparation.  The downside to it is that most dishes (at least the ones I’ve been introduced to thus far) are a little on the fatty/heavy side.  But hey – everything in moderation, right?  No reason one can’t enjoy Mofongo from time to time.

Now, I should take a step back to acknowledge that these dishes I’ve shared with you aren’t solely credited to the Dominican culture.  Different websites and individuals will tell you that these are Puerto Rican dishes.  I’m not sure where Mofongo originates, but I present them as Dominican because a Dominican person introduced me to them, and I’ve eaten them in Dominican places.  That’s the way fate had it planned for me.  I’m sure if a Puerto Rican person had introduced me to them and I ate them in a Puerto Rican restaurant, I’d be writing to you about “Puerto Rico” themed week.  But truly, it’s difficult to discern where these dishes hail from because the two cuisines from the close islands are very similar.

Mofongo2

For the first time in the history of Like Write on Rice, I will not be sharing this recipe with you.  Why?  Well, because I wasn’t happy with it after I attempted it the first time.  It was eatable, but not sharing worthy.   I will continue to attempt this dish and adapt the ingredients to try to achieve a version I’m proud to share.  Until then, I will leave you with pictures of what it looks like so you can drool and hopefully crave it as well.

Cindy's Mofongo Attempt

Cindy’s Mofongo Attempt

If you find yourself in a Latin restaurant where Mofongo is on the menu, I strongly encourage you to order it.  As far as I know, there are no Caribbean Latin restaurants in Reno.

Well, that wraps up my knowledge of Dominican/Caribbean food. I hope you enjoyed some of the things I shared with you. If you have any Caribbean/Latin dishes you’ve really devoured and enjoyed, please share them with me. I’m always looking for another food/culture/adventure to embark on.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

