Mangu – A Traditional Dominican Breakfast

One of the foods I wasn’t afraid to try while in the D.R. was Mangu.  Both places we stayed at served this food daily at breakfast.   This “mashed-potato” like food is a staple in the Dominican diet.  Most commonly served for breakfast, this hearty meal can keep you full for hours.  It’s most commonly served with Dominican sausage, queso frito (fried cheese) and eggs on top.

You won’t find me recommending this as a healthy food alternative because there is not really much healthy about it at all.  The Mangu itself isn’t so bad, but when you add the FRIED sausage, FRIED cheese, and FRIED eggs… things are starting to get a little heavy on the fat side.  One morning while in the DR I ate the full blown traditional breakfast and I immediately needed a nap.

That being said, this shouldn’t deter you from ever trying it.  It’s quite delicious. (How could it not be; Fried+Fried+Fried= Deliciousness.)  I think if you made the Mangu with poached eggs on top, omitted the sausage and fried cheese, this would be a healthy enough breakfast.

If you have a mortar and pestle, I suggest using it. I do not own one so I used our mashed potato utensil and a bowl.  It still got the job done.

Mangu Recipe:
2 unripe plantains (peeled and quartered into 2-3 in pieces, see photos)
2-3 Tbsp olive oil or butter (margarine)
salt
½ onion fried

Mangu1

Directions:
In a large pot of water, boil plantains for approximately 20 minutes until they are cooked.  Reserve 1 cup of the plantain water.  Transfer plantain pieces to a bowl, and begin mashing plantains (just as if you were making mashed potatoes).   Add in the olive oil and reserved water until desired consistency is achieved.

Mangu2 Mangu3

In a skillet, add some olive oil and fry the onion.  Top the finished Mangu with onion.

Since I did not have access to queso frito or Dominican sausage in Reno, NV.  I opted to cook up some linguica and attempted to fry a random Latin cheese (it worked, but it’s not as good as the queso frito – the cheese that was meant to be fried).

Mangu4

 

I hope you enjoy.  Be honest – who has eaten such a rich breakfast before it called for immediate nap time?

2 Comments

  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent blog!

    • cindyelkins says:

      Hi! I’m so glad you decided to check out my blog on a lunch break!! I hope you enjoy what you read. I’m always open to suggestions or recommendations. Happy reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

