Martin Yan – Oh yes, Mr. Yan Can Cook

Earlier this week, I had the pleasure of seeing Martin Yan cook in person at Ferguson here in Reno, NV.  Needless to say, this was a VERY EXCITING experience for me.  I remember watching him on TV growing up and by far he was my favorite cooking show to watch.  Lots of personality packed in this man!  Look at that… my sister and I even got our picture taken with him.  **SWOON**

MartinYan2

I don’t normally get “star struck” but let’s face it… Martin Yan = Certified Bad Ass.

Chef Yan informed us that he will start filming new episodes of Yan Can Cook very soon, (YAY!) and has also opened a new restaurant in San Francisco called M.Y. China.  San Fran road trip anyone??

I’ll be sharing what I learned from him over the next few blog posts.  I feel if I packed it all into one, you’d be overwhelmed with awesomeness.  I do not wish to overwhelm you all.  Just shock, awe and amaze. 😉

Several blog posts ago, I shared with you all my tips for cutting an onion.  Yesterday, Chef Yan revolutionized my cooking world with his knife skills.  He showed some very cool techniques on how to clean out bell peppers, remove seeds and ribs from a jalapeno and zest an orange like you’ve never seen before.  I can’t wait until the next time I have to cut up one of these veggies because I’m going to “See-saw, see-saw, see-saw, see-saw” the heck out of em’.  (You will understand this reference momentarily when you watch the videos below.)

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did… coming up in the next will be Martin Yan’s sheer domination of a whole chicken and recipes for Mango Orange Beef and Kung Pao Chicken.  Stay tuned my friends… and stay hungry!

10 Comments

  1. Kevin Chan says:

    The way he cuts the bell pepper and jalapeno is very interesting. Funny that the first rice cooker I bought back in college actually came with his recipes.

  2. Kelly J says:

    Take me with you when you go to SF!! That would be a killer fun trip. I’m watching this video with delight!

  3. Pingback: If Yan Can, You Can Too! | rusticmodern

  4. Gena says:

    Hi Cindy ~ That is amazing. Can’t wait to see the chicken. This inspires me to think of taking some serious knife skill classes.

Leave a Reply

