Siracha Kale Chips

Here’s another edition of “Lessons learned the hard way by Cindy.”  One of the things I love about cooking is the experimenting; laughing at myself, then sharing it will all you lovely people.

This week’s lesson is on Kale.  All kale is not created equal.  Ok… well nutritionally, it’s more or less the same, but in kitchen cooking it is not exactly the same.  There are three types of kale: curly kale, red kale and lacinato kale.

Lays Potato Chips just had a contest to have consumers help pick the next big potato chip flavor.  Chicken & Waffles, Garlic Bread and Siracha were the three flavors vying for the winning spot.

It seems to me that it would be a no-brainer that Siracha should win hands down.  I’ve tried the Lays chips, and they were good.  I didn’t think it tasted THAT much like the real thing, but it was a spicy reddish colored chip and I managed to eat nearly an entire bag of them so they couldn’t have been that bad.  However, since I wasn’t that satisfied with the flavor, and eating a whole bag of potato chips isn’t a healthy thing to do, I decided to try to make Siracha kale chips.

Round 1:
I used curly kale.  Why? Because it was already cut, washed and ready for me in a bag and I figured it would be good enough.  The flavor was… “meh” at best.  I didn’t add enough siracha mixture to the kale prior to baking. The result was just average, not above average.  I deemed it more or less a fail, and thought “not sharing this one with the world…”

SirachaChip2

Round 2:
Next, I tracked down some lacinato kale.  It has more of a flat appearance.  I ramped up my Siracha mixture and took another stab at it.  MUCH better results this time around!!  Siracha Lacinato Kale Chips = success!

Both types of kale will work, but now that I’ve had curly kale and lacinato kale, I prefer the lacinato kale for chip purposes.

Ingredients:
Lacinato Kale
1 Tbsp. Siracha
1 Tbsp Extra virgin olive oil
1-2 tsp red vinegar

Directions:  Wash and dry kale really well.  Break kale into large chip size pieces.  Remove stems (they can be bitter when cooked).  Combine Siracha, olive oil and red vinegar well.  Toss with kale.  Lay flavored kale out on a cookie sheet, single layer.  Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes until crisp.

SirachaChips3

sirachachips4

Hope you enjoy this recipe!  Let me know what you think.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Clean Eating: What does it mean?? | Like Write on Rice

Leave a Reply

