Chicken Piccata with Sagnarelli Pasta & Wilted Spinach

Sometimes I just like to wander around grocery stores to see what is new.  What new product might be hiding down one of these aisles that will totally inspire me to cook something delicious?

This happened to me the other day at Raley’s. I love Raley’s er… or really, really like it.  If grocery stores were elementary school crushes, I’d punch this one in the arm and then run off giggling.  **Swoon** And then I’d send them a note “Do you like me too? Yes, No or Maybe? Circle one.”

I was in the pasta section when this little pasta caught my eye.  “Well look at you little fella… I’ve never seen a pasta like you before.”  Sag…Sagnar….Sagnarelli.  Hunh.  Looks like an inch long postage stamp pasta.  I like you. Purchase.

ChickenPic2

I get home. Now what.  I’ve got this pasta, but no plan.  Call up my mom:

“What can we make with pasta?”

“Chicken Piccata.”

“I only have the pasta to contribute.”

“It’s OK, I’ve got everything else.”

It is decided.

Ingredients:
1 lb. pasta (shape, size is really your choice)
3 cups baby spinach
8 chicken tenders
1 Cup flour (seasoned with salt and pepper)
1 Tbsp. butter
1-2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
3 Tbsp. Lemon Juice (fresh if possible)
2-3 Tbsp. Capers
1 C White Wine
4-6 Garlic cloves chopped
Parsley (optional)

I highly recommend doing all your prep work before putting it together in the pan since things happen quickly once the chicken cooks.  Have everything measured and ready to go.

Directions:  Using a meat tenderizer, pound flat your chicken tenders.  After flattened, dredge chicken in flour mixture shaking off excess flour, set aside.ChickenPic1

Start boiling water for pasta.  In a separate pan, heat oil in a pan large enough to accommodate all the chicken pieces in 1-2 batches of cooking.  Add chopped garlic and cook on a low-medium heat to infuse oil with garlic flavor.  When it becomes aromatic, and before garlic begins to brown, using a slotted spoon, remove garlic bits from pan; reserve.   (We’re going to turn up the heat, and leaving the garlic in may cause it to burn).

Turn up the heat on the pan to medium to medium-high and cook chicken on both sides until golden brown.  Once chicken is cooked, remove from heat and set it aside.ChickenPic3

If water is boiling throw in your pasta now.

Back to the chicken….  Chicken has been removed.  Pan is hot.  Pour in white wine to deglaze the pan.  Once it’s done bubbling, add 1 Tbsp. butter (it adds a nice richness to the sauce, this can be omitted if you don’t want the extra calories/fat).  Add lemon juice, capers and garlic from earlier.  Allow sauce to reduce by half.ChickenPic4ChickenPic5ChickenPic6

Add your chicken back in and coat in sauce.

Once your pasta is cooked; drain it; reserve some pasta water.  Toss drained pasta with fresh baby spinach until spinach wilts.  Use the pasta water if things seem too dry.

We used parsley as a garnish only, but it adds a nice fresh taste.

ChickenPic7

Tell me what you think of this recipe! Have you used sagnarelli pasta before?

8 Comments

  1. Lucy says:

    This sounds delicious!! For Paleoites I would leave out the pasta, change flour to Almond Flour and use chicken broth for the wine.
    Just thought I would let you know in case you were interested. I am going to try this and I will let you know how Al likes it and maybe Laura too. They are my testers. Hi to Mom for me.

  2. cjmcook says:

    I have not heard of sagnarelli pasta before but I like the idea. Easy to eat without making a mess on my face.

Leave a Reply

