Four Cheese Lasagna Roll Ups with Swiss Chard and Prosciutto

In 2008 I had the pleasure of doing a two-week tour through Italy.  During the two weeks, I visited Rome, Sorrento, Capri, Florence, Venice, Milan, La Spezia, Cinque Terra, Pisa and the Vatican City.  When I think Italy, I think GOOD FOOD (yeah..and history, art, the Vatican…) but most importantly the FOOD.

CindyinItalyOne of the many things I love about travel (especially travel abroad) is that it expands my food horizons even further.  I know, I know…Italian food is prevalent in the US, but nothing beats eating food in the country of its origin.  I’ve most recently discovered this website, Eating Italy Food Tours.  Now, here is a company who is after my own heart.  Travel but the itinerary is about food?? Oh. Hell. Yes.

There was plenty of delicious food consumed during the two weeks while I was there.  Among my favorites were spaghetti alla carbonara in Rome, mushroom risotto at some random over-the-highway pit stop, and white pizza in Rome at some little place right next to the Trevi Fountain.  If Italian food wasn’t one of my favorite foods before going to Italy, it certainly was after I got back.

That’s what leads me to this recipe here.  This recipe is a labor of love.  Not something you’re going to whip up for a quick and easy dinner.  Reserve this recipe for when you have time to cook, as there are several steps involved.  Of course, you can take some short cuts like substituting premade sauces for the homemade sauces, but that’s up to you.

Ingredients:
9 lasagna noodles
¼ lb sliced prosciutto
1 bunch swiss chard
1 16 oz ricotta cheese
1 cup grated asiago cheese
1 cup grated fontinella cheese
1 cup grated mozzarella cheese

Béchamel sauce: (follow link for instructions)
1 1/4 cup milk
2 T butter
2 T flour
Sprinkle of nutmeg

La salsa de 5 minuti: (follow link for instructions)
4 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
Dried crushed red pepper
1 28 oz can canned peeled plum tomatoes, pureed
Salt
3 fresh basil leaves, torn

Directions:

Begin by preparing the la salsa de 5 minuti.  Prepare this first because then it can sit and get all yummy together while you prepare the other items.  Boil your lasagna noodles until ¾ cooked.  Don’t over do it, because mushy noodles don’t hold together well for rolling.  Wash and blanch the swiss chard.  Combine Asiago cheese, Fontinella cheese and Ricotta cheese together in a bowl.  Before assembling lasagna rolls, prepare your béchamel sauce to be the bottom sauce in the pan.  Lastly, preheat your oven to 350.  Then it’s time to assemble.

LasagnaRolls4

First spread the cheese mixture, layer on the swiss chard, then layer on the prosciutto.

Diptic-7

Roll them up and place them in the pan on top of the béchamel sauce.  Top with la salsa di 5 minuti and mozzarella cheese.

Diptic-6

Bake at 350 degrees until sauce is bubbling (about 20 minutes).

LasagnaRolls9

LasagnaRoll10

Tell me what you think of this recipe.  Enjoy!

2 Comments

  1. emily says:

    This sounds amazing! We loved the food in Italy, too, although we never found a pizza we adored. But the pasta? Heavenly. Also, have I mention I loved rolled lasagne? I do. I really do. Beats layers every time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

